Mount Holyoke Symphony Orchestra presents “Never Again”: Remembering the Holocaust through the Women’s Orchestra of Auschwitz

Dec 17 2017

The Mount Holyoke Symphony Orchestra of Mount Holyoke College presents “NEVER AGAIN”, a concert remembering the holocaust through the lens of the Women’s Orchestra of Auschwitz, on Tuesday, January 23rd, 2018, at 8:00-9:30pm in Mount Holyoke College Abbey Memorial Chapel.

The program features music that was played by the orchestra during their incarceration at the Auschwitz Concentration Camp, interspersed with readings of testimony by members of the Women’s Orchestra, recalling a day in the life of the orchestra, culminating with a more hopeful call to peace.

The concert is part of the orchestra’s biennial Mary Lyon concert in Washington, DC. The concert celebrates the works of women in music. Previous editions featured the work of composers such as Louise Farrenc, Nkeiru Okoye, Tawnie Olsen, Roxannu Panufnik  and Mary D. Watkins, honoring historical figures such as Fannie Lou Hamer and Harriet Tubman.


Presenter: Mount Holyoke Symphony Orchestra

Event: Mary Lyon Concert “Never Again”

Date: January 23, 2018

Time: 8:00-9:30pm

Venue: Abbey Memorial Chapel, Mount Holyoke College, 50 College St, South Hadley, MA 01075.

Admission: FREE

Contact:   Madeleine Olson, MHSO Publicity Chair

Mary Lyon Concert Poster



Oct 2018